Simons Foundation and Klingenstein Fund Announce Klingenstein-Simons Fellowship Awards in the Neurosciences

Credit: Professor M. Häusser UCL/ Wellcome Images

The Simons Foundation and the Esther A. and Joseph Klingenstein Fund are pleased to announce the launch of the Klingenstein-Simons Fellowship Awards in the Neurosciences.

This awards program, previously known as the Klingenstein Fellowship Awards in the Neurosciences, is one of the nation’s most illustrious, having for three decades supported top neuroscience investigators early in their careers.

The Simons Foundation and Klingenstein Fund share a history of dedication to the advancement of science in the U.S., and both strive to support scientists where other funding sources are unavailable.

“This award is one of the most prestigious in the country and we are proud to partner with the Klingenstein Fund,” says Gerald D. Fischbach, chief scientist and fellow of the Simons Foundation.

Combining forces, the Klingenstein Fund and the Simons Foundation will now award more of these fellowships (up to 12) annually, and at an increased level of support, providing $75,000 per year for three years. “The Klingenstein family is excited to announce this partnership. Both the additional funding and scientific support from the Simons Foundation will greatly strengthen an already powerful program,” says Andrew (Andy) Klingenstein, president of the Klingenstein Fund.

As before, the Klingenstein-Simons Fellowship will support highly promising people at a critical time in their careers, permitting higher-risk — and potentially higher-reward — projects. As the projects, and the investigators, become more established, they will be more likely to attract government funding for the continuation of the work.

Since its start in 1981, the Klingenstein Fund has awarded fellowships to investigators who have gone on to deeply influence neuroscience research. Past awardees include scientific leaders such as Marc Tessier-Lavigne (1992), now president of The Rockefeller University; Richard Scheller (1985), executive vice president of research and early development at Genentech; Susan Hockfield (1985), past president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Karl Deisseroth (2005) and Gero Miesenböck, both recipients of the 2013 Brain Prize; Pietro De Camilli (1989), director of the Yale Program in Cellular Neuroscience, Neurodegeneration and Repair, and many others.

The awards will continue to be administered by the Klingenstein Fund.

If you would like more information on the Klingenstein-Simons Fellowship Awards in the Neurosciences, you may find it at

Eligible candidates must be investigators with a Ph.D. or M.D., within 4 years of completing research training, including postdoctoral work, and must have a tenure track appointment at a university or medical institution.

Recent Announcements