Existence of Canonical Metrics on Non-Kähler Geometry

  • Speaker
  • Shing-Tung Yau, Ph.D.William Caspar Graustein Professor of Mathematics, Harvard University
    Director, Yau Mathematical Sciences Center, Tsinghua University
Date & Time

About Presidential Lectures

Presidential Lectures are free public colloquia centered on four main themes: Biology, Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science, and Neuroscience and Autism Science. These curated, high-level scientific talks feature leading scientists and mathematicians and are intended to foster discourse and drive discovery among the broader NYC-area research community. We invite those interested in the topic to join us for this weekly lecture series.
Video Thumbnail

By clicking to watch this video, you agree to our privacy policy.

In this lecture, Shing-Tung Yau will give a survey on the existence of canonical balanced metrics on non-Kähler complex manifolds through the Hull-Strominger system, which was motivated by string theory on compactifications. He will discuss works by Jun Li of Fudan University in Shanghai, Ji-Xiang Fu of Fudan University, Ivan Smith of the University of Cambridge, Richard P. Thomas of Imperial College London, Tristan C. Collins of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, French mathematician Émile Picard, Teng Fei of Rutgers University in Newark, New Jersey, Adam Jacob of the University of California, Davis, and Duong H. Phong of Columbia University.

Further instructions and access to join the webinar will be sent to all registrants upon sign up.

Inquiries: [email protected]

About the Speaker

Yau is a Chinese American mathematician. He currently serves as a professor of mathematics and a professor of physics at Harvard University. In 1976, Yau proved the Calabi conjecture provides solutions for multiple well-known open problems in algebraic geometry and also allowed physicists to show that string theory is a viable candidate for a unified theory of nature. Calabi–Yau manifolds are among the ‘standard toolkit’ for string theorists today. Yau received the Oswald Veblen Prize in 1981, the Fields Medal in 1982, a MacArthur Fellowship in 1984, the Crafoord Prize in 1994, the United States National Medal of Science in 1997, the China International Scientific and Technological Cooperation Award in 2003, the Wolf Prize in Mathematics in 2010, the Asian American Engineer of the Year (AAEOY) in 2010, and MG15 Award (The Fifteenth Marcel Grossmann Award) in 2018.

Advancing Research in Basic Science and MathematicsSubscribe to our newsletters to receive news & updates