CCQ Director Antoine Georges Awarded the Feenberg Memorial Medal

The Eugene Feenberg Memorial Medal is a prize for research related to the quantum many-body theory named for American physicist Eugene Feenberg.

Antoine Georges, the director of the Flatiron Institute’s Center for Computational Quantum Physics (CCQ), received the Feenberg Memorial Medal on September 14 at the International Conference Series on Recent Progress in Many-Body Theories. Georges shares the medal with CCQ long-term visiting scientist Gabriel Kotliar of Rutgers University and Dieter Vollhardt of the University of Augsburg in Germany.

The medal, first awarded in 1985, “is designated for work that is firmly established and which can be demonstrated to have significantly advanced the field of many-body physics.”

This year’s award recognizes the three scientists’ contributions to dynamical mean-field theory, or DMFT. The method has transformed the field of computational quantum physics since its inception in the 1990s by enabling scientists to explain, calculate and predict the properties of quantum materials with strongly interacting and correlated particles.

Georges is also a professor of physics at the Collège de France in Paris. His work has previously been recognized in numerous fellowships and awards, including the 2020 Rahman Prize for Computational Physics, the Anatole and Suzanne Abragam Prize of the French Academy of Sciences, the 2004 Prix Dargelos, the 2006 Europhysics Prize in condensed matter physics, the 2007 CNRS silver medal, a 2012 Synergy Grant from the European Research Council and the 2014 Hamburg Prize for Theoretical Physics. In addition, he is a member of the French Academy of Sciences.

Recent Announcements