Former MPS Board Member Avi Wigderson Receives Turing Award

Talia Herman for Quanta Magazine

The Association for Computing Machinery has named Avi Wigderson the winner of the 2023 A.M. Turing Award for his “foundational contributions to the theory of computation, including reshaping our understanding of the role of randomness in computation and for his decades of intellectual leadership in theoretical computer science.”

Wigderson is the Herbert H. Maass Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey. He previously served on the advisory board of the Simons Foundation’s Mathematics & Physical Sciences division and was a member of the Simons Collaboration on Algorithms and Geometry.

The Turing Award is the top honor in computing and is often referred to as the field’s equivalent of a Nobel Prize. The award, named for computing pioneer Alan Turing, comes with a $1 million cash prize.

Recent Announcements