Simons Collaboration on Cracking the Glass Problem Annual Meeting

  • Organized by
  • Giulio Biroli, Ph.D.CEA Saclay
  • David R. Reichman, Ph.D.Columbia University
  • Marco Baity-Jesi, Ph.D.CEA Saclay
    Columbia University
Date & Time

Thu.: 8:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Fri.: 8:30 AM - 2:00 PM


Gerald D. Fischbach Auditorium
160 5th Ave
New York, NY 10010 United States

The second annual meeting of the Simons Collaboration on the Cracking Glass Problem will bring together collaboration members and guest speakers to review and discuss the collaboration’s research and progress over the last year.

  • Agendaplus--large

    Thursday, March 8

    1:45 PM Sidney R. Nagel, University of Chicago | Welcome
    2:00 PM David R. Reichman, Columbia University | Dynamics of Glasses: Real-Space, Landscape and Field-Theoretic Perspectives
    4:00 PMEric Vanden Eijnden, New York University | Accelerated Sampling Methods and Path Finding Algorithms Based on Transition Path Theory

    Friday, March 9

    8:30 AMLudovic Berthier, Université Montpellier | The Gardner Transition in Glasses
    9:30 AMPatrick Charbonneau, Duke University | Bypassing sluggishness: recent algorithmic advances by the Simons collaboration on Cracking the glass problem
    10:30 AMBREAK
    11:00 AMKaren E. Daniels, North Carolina State | Counting Network Configurations in Frictional Granular Materials
    12:00 PMLUNCH
    1:00 PMMatthieu Wyart, EPFL | How glassy materials yield and flow
    2:00 PMDaan Frenkel, Cambridge University | Non-Ergodicity, Fake-Ergodicity and the Colour of Energy Landscapes
    3:00 PMBREAK
    3:30 PMRémi Monasson, ENS Paris | Reverse-engineering of proteins with restricted Boltzmann machines

    Saturday, March 10 (Junior Meeting @ Columbia University)

    8:30 AMIntroduction to the "Cracking the Glass Problem" research groups
    9:00 AMMisaki Ozawa, Université Montpellier | A Unified Picture of Yielding in Amorphous Solids
    10:00 AMBREAK
    10:30 AMElijah Flenner, University of Colorado | Using Simulations to Understand Vapor Deposited Glasses
    11:30 AMFélix Roy, CEA Saclay | Do Not Quench Ecosystems
    12:30 PMLUNCH
    1:30 PMJacopo Rocchi, Paris XI | Dynamics Potentials and Fluctuations in Spin Glasses
    2:30 PMHarukuni Ikeda, ENS Paris | Thermodynamic Theory of the Swap Monte Carlo Algorithm
    3:30 PMGeorgios Tsekenis, University of Oregon | Gardner Phenomenology in Minimally Polydisperse Crystalline Systems
    4:30 PMClosing Remarks
  • Participantsplus--large
    Elisabeth Agoritsas École Normale Supérieure
    Ada Altieri University of Rome
    Francesco Arceri University of Oregon
    Marco Baity-Jesi Columbia University
    Fernarda Benetti Sapienza Università di Roma
    Ludovic Berthier University of Montpellier
    Giulio Biroli IPhT CEA Saclay
    Kyle Bishop Columbia University
    Horst-Holger Boltz University of Chicago
    Carolina Brito  Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul
    Jasna Brujic  New York University
    Angelo Cacciuto   Columbia University
    Chiara Cammarota King’s College London
    Patrick Charbonneau Duke University
    Eric Corwin University of Oregon
    Ivan Corwin Columbia University
    Jack Dale University of Oregon
    Karen Daniels North Carolina State University
    Cam Dennis University of Oregon
    Elijah Flenner Colorado State University
    Giampaolo Folena Sapienza Università di Roma
    Silvio Franz  LPTMS Universite Paris-Sud
    Daan Frenkel Trinity College
    Tomer Goldfriend Ecole Normale Superieure Paris
    Sarang Gopalakrishnan   City University of New York
    Giacomo Gradenigo CNR-Nanotec
    Shura Grosberg  New York University
    Daniel Hexner New York University
    Sungmin Hwang Technische Universität München
    Harukuni Ikeda École Normale Supérieure
    Dmytro Khomenko Ecole Normale Supérieure, Paris
    Joyjit Kundu Duke University
    Jorge Kurchan CNRS
    Francois Landes ENS, Upenn, CEA, Columbia
    Edan Lerner University of Amsterdam
    Thibault Lesieur Institut de Physique Théorique
    Cathy Li University of Pennsylvania
    Chloe Lindeman University of Chicago
    M. Lisa Manning Syracuse University
    Popovic Marko EPFL
    Kuni Miyazaki Nagoya University
    Remi Monasson École Normale Supérieure
    Peter Morse  Syracuse University
    Sidney Nagel University of Chicago
    Vadim Oganeysan  City University of New York
    Misaki Ozawa Université de Montpellier
    David Reichman Columbia University
    Sean Ridout University of Pennsylvania
    Jacopo Rocchi Sapienza Università di Roma
    Valentina Ros IPhT, CEA Saclay
    Felix Roy IPhT, CEA Saclay
    Levent Sagun New York University
    Srikanth Sastry  Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research
    Camille Scalliet University of Montpellier
    Beatriz Seoane École Normale Supérieure
    Antonio Sclocchi Université Paris Sud
    Stefano Spigler Université Paris Sud
    Ethan Michael Stanifer Syracuse University
    Grzegorz Szamel Colorado State University
    Gilles Tarjus  CNRS/UPMC
    Georgios Tsekenis University of Oregon
    Eric vanden Eijnden New York University
    Matthieu Wyart EPFL
    Sho Yaida Duke University
    Hajime Yoshino Osaka University
    Francesco Zamponi École Normale Supérieure
    Ge Zhang University of Pennsylvania
  • Travelplus--large

    Air and Train

    1. Group A
      The foundation will arrange and pay for all air and train travel to the conference for those in Group A. Please provide your travel specifications by clicking the registration link above. If you are unsure of your group, please refer to your invitation sent via email.
    2. Group B
      The foundation will arrange and pay for hotel accommodations for individuals in Group B. Please provide your arrival and departure dates by clicking the registration link above. If you are unsure of your group, please refer to your invitation sent via email.
    3. Group C
      Individuals in Group C are considered local and will not receive travel or hotel support. Please register at the link above so that we can capture your dietary requirements. If you are unsure of your group, please refer to your invitation sent via email.

    Personal Car

    1. For participants driving to Manhattan, The Roger Hotel offers valet parking. Please note there are no in-and-out privileges when using the hotel’s garage, therefore it is encouraged that participants walk or take public transportation to the Simons Foundation.
  • Hotelplus--large

    Participants in Group A and Group B who require accommodations are hosted by the foundation for a maximum of three nights at The Roger hotel. Any additional nights are at the attendee’s own expense.

    The Roger New York
    131 Madison Avenue
    New York, NY 10016
    (between 30th and 31st Streets)

    To arrange accommodations, please register at the link above.

    For driving directions to The Roger, please click here.

  • Contactsplus--large

    Travel Assistance
    Elise Volpe, Protravel International

    Registration, Hotel and General Meeting Assistance
    Meghan Fazzi
    Senior Executive Assistant, Simons Foundation
    (212) 524-6080

Subscribe to MPS announcements and other foundation updates