3rd Workshop on Operator Splitting Methods in Data Analysis

Date & Time

Organized by

Patrick L. Combettes                                 Christian L. Müller
Distinguished Professor,                              Project Leader in Computational
Mathematics, North Carolina                      Statistics, Numerical Analysis,
State University                                           CCM, Flatiron Institute

Operator Splitting Methods in Data Analysis, CCM, Flatiron Institute

The 3rd workshop on Operator Splitting Methods in Data Analysis brings together experts from nonlinear analysis, optimization, data analysis, and statistics to advance the field of operator splitting methods and its application to statistics and data analysis.

Specific topics include:
(i) non-smooth optimization in statistics,
(ii) nonconvex/nonmonotone splitting methods,
(iii) scaling up of splitting strategies as the numbers of observations and features grow,
(iv) robustness of splitting methods under perturbations and modeling errors,
(v) nonlinear analysis for deep learning, and
(vi) nonstandard variational formulations for data analysis problems.

A unique aspect will be again the strong focus on presentations that illuminate technical difficulties and highlight open problems

Past Workshops:
2018 Operator Splitting Methods in Data Analysis
2019 Operator Splitting Methods in Data Analysis

  • Participantsplus--large
    Radu Ioan BotUniversity of Vienna
    Mario BravoUniversidad de Santiago de Chile
    Luis Briceño-AriasUniversidad Técnica Federico Santa María
    Minh BuiNorth Carolina State University
    Laurent CondatKing Abdullah University of Science and Technology
    Aris DaniilidisUniversidad de Chile
    Jonathan EcksteinRutgers University
    Mario FigueiredoInstituto de Telecomunicações, Instituto Superior Técnico
    Donald GoldfarbColumbia University
    Tim HoheiselMcGill University
    Guanghui LanGeorgia Tech ISyE
    Yves LucetUniversity of British Columbia
    Aditya MishraFlatiron Institute, Center for Computational Mathematics
    Marcelo PereyraHeriot-Watt University
    Teemu PennanenKing's College London
    Jean-Christophe PesquetUniversité Paris-Saclay
    R. Terry RockafellarUniversity of Washington
    Johannes RoysetNaval Postgraduate School
    Ernest RyuUniversity of California, Los Angeles
    Ivan SelesnickNew York University
    Noah SimonUniversity of Washington
    Minh TangNorth Carolina State University
    Ryan TibshiraniCarnegie Mellon University
    Isao YamadaTokyo Institute of Technology (TITech)
Advancing Research in Basic Science and MathematicsSubscribe to Flatiron Institute announcements and other foundation updates