Simons-Funded Researchers Elected as 2020 Fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Seven researchers supported by the Simons Foundation and board member Margaret Hamburg are among the latest group of prominent artists, scholars, scientists and leaders elected as fellows of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. The academy is one of the oldest and most prestigious learned societies in the United States. It convenes leaders from across disciplines to address critical challenges facing society. The academy’s 2020 class adds 276 new members.

  • Thomas R. Clandinin
    Stanford University School of Medicine. Simons Collaboration on the Global Brain Investigator.
  • Geraldine Dawson
    Duke University Hospital. Principal Investigator, Simons Foundation Autism Research Initiative.
  • Margaret Hamburg
    National Academy of Medicine. Board Member.
  • Chung-Pei Ma
    University of California, Berkeley. 2012 Simons Fellow in Theoretical Physics.
  • Victoria J. Orphan
    Caltech. Investigator, Simons Collaboration on Principles of Microbial Ecosystems.
  • Eve Ostriker
    Princeton University. 2017 Simons Investigator in Astrophysics.
  • Eva Silverstein
    Stanford University. Lead Principal Investigator, Origins of the Universe Program; 2017 Simons Investigator in Physics.
  • Tatiana Toro
    University of Washington. 2012 and 2019 Simons Fellow in Mathematics.
Recent Announcements