Robbert Dijkgraaf Joins Simons Foundation Board of Directors

The Simons Foundation is pleased to announce that mathematical physicist Robbert Dijkgraaf has joined its board of directors.

Dijkgraaf is director of and Leon Levy Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton, New Jersey. He is known for his significant contributions to string theory and to the interface between mathematics and particle physics. In 2003, he received the Spinoza Prize, the Netherlands’ top scientific award. He previously served as president of the InterAcademy Partnership and co-chair of the InterAcademy Council, a consortium of national science academies that advises the United Nations, the World Bank and other international organizations. He also served as president of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Dijkgraaf joins fellow board members Emery Brown, a physician-scientist; mathematician David Eisenbud; physician Margaret A. Hamburg; physicist Peter Littlewood; computer scientist William H. Press; hedge fund executive Mark Silber; molecular biologist Shirley M. Tilghman; Simons Foundation president Marilyn H. Simons; and Simons Foundation chairman James H. Simons.

Recent Announcements