Ingrid Daubechies Joins Simons Foundation Board of Directors

Portraits of Dr. Ingrid Daubechies, James B. Duke Professor of Mathematics and Electrical and Computer Engineering at Duke University in Durham, North Carolina, Friday, May 24, 2019  (Justin Cook for The Simons Foundation)
Ingrid Daubechies has joined the Simons Foundation board of directors. Credit: Justin Cook for the Simons Foundation

The Simons Foundation is pleased to announce that mathematician and physicist Ingrid Daubechies has joined its board of directors.

Daubechies is the James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Mathematics and Electrical and Computer Engineering at Duke University. She has had a sprawling research career in fields as diverse as art restoration, evolutionary biology, electrical engineering and, most notably, image and data processing. Her most famous contributions concern wavelets, mathematical structures vital for modern signal processing.

She is a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the National Academy of Sciences, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the Academia Europaea. She is a 1992 MacArthur Fellow and served as president of the International Mathematical Union from 2011 to 2014. She is the recipient of numerous awards, including the National Academy of Sciences Award in Mathematics in 2000, the Nemmers Prize in 2012, Fudan-Zhongzhi Science Award in 2018, and the Princess of Asturias Award for Technical and Scientific Research in 2020.

Daubechies joins fellow board members Emery Brown, a physician-scientist; mathematical physicist Robbert Dijkgraaf; mathematician David Eisenbud; physician Margaret A. Hamburg; physicist Peter Littlewood; computer scientist William H. Press; hedge fund executive Mark Silber; molecular biologist Shirley M. Tilghman; and Simons Foundation co-chairs James H. Simons and Marilyn H. Simons.

Recent Announcements